6 Signs You’re In The Wrong Church

Greyson Ferguson
8 min readJul 31, 2020
Photo by Joshua Eckstein on Unsplash

“You may be seated.”

No, I’m going to run out the front door, screaming!

Oh, how many times I wanted to do that when visiting a new church. You see, my dad was a minister. I grew up in the church. If there was a non-church sanctioned Sunday morning activity I wasn’t allowed to attend it.

The only Sundays I missed church for the first 16 years of my life were because I was sick, and even then my mom popped in the VHS Bible cartoons.

It also meant that when we went on vacation, any vacation, if it crossed over onto Sunday we absolutely had to go to Sunday morning service.

Nothing breaks up the family trip to Disney World like sitting in an AC-lacking Kissimmee church, fanning myself with a program, being told of how I could never ever, ever, be good enough.

Good thing to hammer home with a 10-year-old.

Think that church’s motto was “break them early.”

But I digress. Anyway, what I’m getting at is I’ve been to a ton of churches over the years. At least while my father was alive. It’s been a bit touchy in recent years, but that’s a different topic and a different story.

Instead, I wanted to focus on how you know you’re at the wrong church. For any regular or even semi-regular…

--

--

Greyson Ferguson

You might hate my first story, but maybe you’ll like the next. Ever dream of moving out of the U.S.? I wrote a book that can help: https://t.ly/OcQYG